Great-Grandpa’s Buttons

My great-grandpa Socrat owned a dry-cleaning business starting in the late 1920s here in Los Angeles. He also did alterations during that time. Grandpa Socrat passed when I was in Kindergarten so I didn’t know him well, but I hear he was a great, kind man.

A few weeks ago, my Grandma Ethel (his daughter) told me she had a bunch of his buttons from the old days. I immediately told her I wanted them if she would part with them. Lucky for me, she was happy to!

Here are a few of my favorites.

Clear with blue rhinestone:

Tiny Stars:

Clear and purple flower:

You can see the rest of the most interesting buttons here.

It just so happens I am knitting my Grandma Ethel a capelet for her birthday. It’s based on Edith Eig’s Pink Mohair Capelet from her book Mother of Purl.

I am completely done with the knitting part. All it needs is a button or snap closure for the front.

I would love to use one of his buttons and I am trying to decide what to use. Vote for your favorite in the comments!

#1 – Purple (it’s pink enough to work) flower from above

#2 – Rhinestone Button (not sure it’s big enough, but I could try)

#3 – Pink Button (this is actually shiny on the flat part)

#4 – Pink Pearl-Finish Button

Help me decide! I’ll be giving the finished piece to her on Tuesday, August 10, 2010 so I’ll tally up the votes and make a decision that Monday morning. Thanks for your help!

About Lisa Musella

Le Cordon Bleu School of Culinary Arts grad searching for her place in the culinary world. Lisa Musella is also enamored with her husband, her cat, and her chorus.
This entry was posted in Crafts, Knitting, Lisa and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Great-Grandpa’s Buttons

  1. Mom says:

    Amazing! #3 is my favorite!

  2. Is the clear & purple all one thing? If not, I was wondering if you could do one on each side with a loop clasp to go over the second? I love the way it looks.

Leave a Reply

